22 June 2015

RMIT Film Awards

Entries are now open for the 2015 RMIT Student Film Awards.

Students and recent graduates are invited to submit films of any genre, up to ten minutes in length for the chance to win great prizes and feedback from industry professionals.

The competition is a testing ground for any and all RMIT students interested in film, regardless of what they’re studying, providing an opportunity to engage with industry in a supportive environment.

This year’s prizes include a mentoring session with Broekman-Dattner, a short course at Open Channel and a one-year Open Channel associate membership for all entrants.

Melbourne producer Emma Haarburger, a 2014 competition judge and the 2010 winner, is a great example of the pathways that the prize can open to students. Haarburger’s short films have screened internationally at over 20 film festivals, and her latest short film Static has picked up an impressive swathe of international awards.

Haarburger said that the opportunity winning the Student Film Award in 2010 provided to attend the Screen Producers Association of Australia conference “opened my eyes to the whole industry and process. For me, it inspired and solidified in my mind that I wanted to be a producer.”

Having the chance to meet some industry ‘big wigs’ at the conference helped put Haarburger on the path she is following now, and she says, “At this exact moment I’m working on a Chinese Feature film in Sydney at Fox Studios, assisting in the Australian leg of the production.”

The RMIT Student Film Awards are an opportunity to learn and connect, and as Haarburger explains, “RMIT was a solid base and I’m surprised just how much I’m using my skills from the course in my profession. You build the rest of your learning experience on top of that and you make of it what you want.”

The format of this year’s competition has changed from a single screening at an award night to include a 2-week screening season. This will improve student’s access to the films and giving everyone an opportunity to vote for their favourite film. Films will also be captioned to improve accessibility.

The judges are; writer/producer/academic Daniel Binns (RMIT), writer/director Kess Broekman-Dattner (Oh Yeah Wow), editor/broadcaster/academic Josh Nelson (Philmology), and eOne Marketing Manager, Katrina Wilkinson.

Films will be judged in the categories of documentary, drama, animation, experimental, comedy and music video. There is also a People’s Choice Award.

Applications to the 2015 RMIT Student Film Awards close midnight, Friday 26 June.

To apply or for more information, go to RMIT Student Film Awards or contact Denise Bohan at denise.bohan@rmit.edu.au.

More news

Subscribe to RMIT news RSS feeds