02 February 2016

UNAA World Environment Day Awards

United Nations Association of Australia (UNAA) is calling for entries for the 2016 World Environment Day Awards.

Each year on World Environment Day on 5 June, the UNAA recognises innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives from across Australia and the important work of Australian environmental leaders through its World Environment Day Awards.

The preeminent national awards play an important role in raising awareness about key environmental issues and challenges, and inspiring and motivating individuals, organisations and businesses to take positive steps towards sustainability and environmental excellence in their homes, schools, communities and workplaces. Businesses, local governments, community organisations, individuals, schools and the media from across Australia are invited to enter the Awards.

Winners will be announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner to be held on Monday 6 June 2016 at ZINC at Federation Square, Melbourne. The gala event will showcase the cutting edge environmental projects and initiatives in Australia, offering guests the opportunity to mix with environmental leaders from all sectors.

There are 12 award categories available for entry:

  • The Clean Energy Award (Sponsored by the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources)
  • Infrastructure Innovation Award (new award)
  • Community Award
  • Environmental Education Award
  • Individual Award
  • Media Award for Environmental Reporting
  • Wetland and Wildlife Creations P/L Biodiversity Award
  • Business Award
  • Excellence in Water Management Award
  • Environmental School Award
  • Local Government Award
  • Organisation leadership Award

Entries close 5pm AEST Friday 8 April 2016.

For more information and to view the entries from past winners and finalists, go to UNAA World Environment Day Awards.

More news

Subscribe to RMIT news RSS feeds (unresolved)