ATN Declaration of Commitment to Local, National and Global Sustainability

RMIT is a member of the ATN, the alliance of five influential mainland Universities. On 31st January, 2008, Professor Margaret Gardner, Vice-Chancellor and President, RMIT University, signed the ATN Declaration of Commitment to Local, National and Global Sustainability, which pledges to make sustainability a focus in the University’s teaching and learning programs, research, infrastructure and operations.


Talloires Declaration

RMIT University became a signatory to the Talloires Declaration in 1995. The Talloires Declaration is a document containing the signatures of higher education institution leaders, pledging that their respective university or college will become world leaders in developing, supporting and maintaining sustainability.

The Talloires Declaration was drafted at a conference of 22 universities in Talloires, France in 1990. The conference was convened by Jean Mayer, the then President of Tufts University in Massachusetts, USA. The registrar for the declaration is held by the University Leaders for a Sustainable Future (ULSF) organization, based in Washington DC, USA.