Asia@RMIT - Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Research

The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, known as Ceylon prior to 1972, is an island nation situated in the Indian Ocean, south of India. Following over two thousand years of rule by local kingdoms, the coastal areas of the island were controlled by the Portuguese and the Dutch in the 16th and 17th century, with the island being united under British colonial rule by 1815. Independence was granted by the British after peaceful negotiations in 1948; however tensions between the Sinhalese majority and Tamil separatists has seen the country embroiled in a civil war since 1983, which was finally declared won by the Sri Lankan government in May 2009.

Several RMIT based researchers have focused on Sri Lanka, undertaking research into public sector reforms, the growth of the accounting profession, and the impact of the devastating Asian tsunami.


View in the RMIT research repository