27 November 2006

Siemens-RMIT Fine Arts Scholarship entries on show

Siemens and RMIT University will announce the recipients of the 2006 Siemens-RMIT Fine Arts Scholarship awards at the official opening of the fine art exhibition this week.

The Siemens-RMIT Fine Arts Scholarship is one of the most progressive scholarships of its kind in Australia. Now in its seventh year, the scholarship program enables RMIT students to further their careers in the field of fine arts by assisting their research and production costs.

The partnership demonstrates the commitment of both Siemens and RMIT University to innovation, knowledge and excellence. Siemens has invested about $500,000 over a 10-year period, one of the longest arts-business partnerships in Australia.

Each year, a panel of judges selects the eight students who receive a combined $32,000 in financial scholarships to further their studies and careers: five undergraduate travel scholarships and three postgraduate scholarships.

In addition, one further artwork will be picked by a group of Siemens employees to receive the $1,000 Siemens Fine Art Acquisition Award, with the winning work becoming part of the Siemens Australia and New Zealand corporate art collection, to be displayed in the Siemens offices at Bayswater.

An exhibition of the 35 finalists’ work is on show at the RMIT Gallery until 9 December. Selected from RMIT's School of Art, the works include ceramics, drawing, fine art, photography, gold and silver smithing, media arts, painting, printmaking and sculpture.

The shortlisted artists are: Jeremy Bakker, Nigel Brown, Simon Cottrell, Prue Crome, Simon Currell, Wendy Dracoulis, Lisa Frankland, Michael Georgetti, Anna Gilby, Peter Gurry, Leon Hawker, Renda Helal, Douglas Hendry, Bianca Hester, Lisa Hilli, Kate Just, Katie Lee, Sanne Mestrom, Angela Morgan, Joanna Mortreux, James Murnane, Philippa Lesley Murray, Stephanie Neoh, Elizabeth Nigol, Robyn Phelan, Emily Plunkett, Pheobe Ross, Lisa Rumler, Deane Sobey, Kate Spencer, Salote Tawale, John Waller, Angela Watters, Mon-Xi Wu and Sally Zurbo.

Executive Director of the Australian Business Arts Foundation, Kathy Keele, will officially open the exhibition on Thursday, 30 November at 6pm.

Chairman and Managing Director of Siemens in Australia and New Zealand, Albert Goller, will announce the winning students and present the awards.

  • What: Siemens-RMIT Fine Arts Scholarship Exhibition
  • When:
    • Exhibition opening: Thursday, 30 November, at 6pm
    • Exhibition dates: Monday, 27 November – Saturday, 9 December
    • Monday – Friday 11am – 5pm, Saturday 2pm – 5pm (Free admission
  • Where: RMIT Gallery, 344 Swanston Street, Melbourne
  • More Info: RMIT Gallery (03) 9925 1717 or rmit.gallery@rmit.edu.au


Media inquiries

Email Helen Walpole

RMIT Gallery
Storey Hall
344 Swanston Street
Melbourne 3000
Tel: +61 3 9925 1717
Fax: +61 3 9925 1738

Email: rmit.gallery@rmit.edu.au
Web: www.rmit.edu.au/rmitgallery