22 August 2014

Free Panel Discussion – Social Conscience and the Popular Novel

Author and literary writer Jane Sullivan will chair a free panel event on social conscience and nineteenth century novel at the State Library on 28 August 2014.


Event details

Title:

From Page to Stage – Social Conscience and the Popular Novel

Date:

2014-08-28

Time:

6 to 7.15 pm

Location:

State Library of Victoria, The Courtyard


Further details

Fans of Victor Hugo, Leo Tolstoy, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Charles Dickens are invited to join author and literary writer Jane Sullivan as she chairs a lively and entertaining discussion about social conscience and nineteenth century novel.

Panellists include historian Anna Welch, who worked as the assistant curator on the exhibition Victor Hugo: Les Misérables – From Page to Stage, and world renowned translator Julie Rose. Julie's 2008 translation of Les Misérables is the first full original unabridged English translation of the book.

Other panellists include Professor Brian Nelson, Professor Emeritus of French Studies and Translation Studies at Monash University.

Book your ticket online from State Library of Victoria or call 03 8664 7099.

More events

From Page To Stage

LoveLes Misérables? This is surely the right place for you.