27 August 2015

The Stella Prize

Stack of books written by women

Could your piece of literature take out the Stella Prize award?

Entries now open for this major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing and promoting diversity and cultural change.

The competition

The Stella Prize is an annual prize celebrating Australian women’s contribution to literature, and is named after Stella Maria Sarah ‘Miles’ Franklin.

The prize is open to books written by women who are either Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia at the time of entry. To be eligible for entry in the 2016 prize, books must have been first published in English anywhere in the world between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2015.

Both fiction and nonfiction books are eligible for the prize. This includes novels of all genres, collections of short stories by a single author, memoirs, biographies, histories, novellas and verse novels. Illustrated books, including graphic novels, are eligible, provided they are accompanied by a substantial quantity of text.

The winning book will be original, excellent and engaging.

The Stella Prize seeks to raise the profile and sales of books by women generally, and specifically through its events program, longlist and shortlist. In doing so, the Stella Prize will encourage future generations of women writers by providing role models and improving the level of recognition for Australian women’s writing.


The prize will reward one female writer, the winner of the Stella Prize, with a monetary prize of $50,000.


  • A discounted early-bird entry fee of $60 will be offered for entries received before 5pm AEDT Monday 31 August 2015.
  • The standard entry fee of $80 will apply after the early-bird period. Entries close at closing 5.00pm AEDT Wednesday 30 September 2015.

To enter and for more information, go to The Stella Prize.

More news

Subscribe to RMIT news RSS feeds