2011 RMIT Teaching Award winners

RMIT’s Teaching Awards recognise and celebrate excellence in teaching, scholarly research into educational practice and exemplary support services which enhance the student experience. This year’s awards spanned a diversity of disciplines and demonstrated the passion and commitment of staff and students.

Vice-Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Associate Professor Christopher Ziguras (School of Global Studies, Social Science and Planning)

Award for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching and Research

  • Associate Professor John Reece (School of Health Sciences)

Category A: Higher Education discipline categories

Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies

  • Dr George Lenon (School of Health Sciences)

Humanities and The Arts

  • Dr Mandy Oakham (School of Media and Communication)

Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies

  • Dr Foula Kopanidis (School of Economics, Finance and Marketing)

Social Sciences

  • Peter Meaney (School of Education)

Work Integrated Learning

  • Dr Bee May and Prue Bramwell (School of Applied Sciences)


  • Ian Woodruff (School of Management)

Early Career Academic

  • Dr Shanthi Robertson (School of Global Studies, Social Science and Planning)

Teaching Large Classes

  • Dr Richard Guy (School of Medical Sciences)

Category B: TAFE Awards

TAFE Outstanding Teacher/Trainer of the Year Award

  • Hazel Sims (School of Business TAFE)

Outstanding Training Initiative of the Year Award

  • Justin Compton (School of Design TAFE)

Outstanding Sessional Teaching Award

  • Elizabeth Eades (School of Business TAFE)
  • Jenni Woods (School of Design TAFE)

Assessment and Feedback

  • Sonja Cleary, Sharee Griffiths, Leonie Murphy, Dr Mee Young Park, Faye Partridge (School of Health Sciences)

Educational Partnerships and Collaborations with Other Organisations

  • Robyn Lang, Robert Sheen, Andrew Webster (School of Business TAFE)

The first year experience

  • Dr Bernie Holland (School of Medical Sciences)

Innovation in curricula, learning and teaching

  • Associate Professor Margaret Jollands, Luis Alban, Dr Nhol Kao, Professor Tom Molyneaux, Dr Partha Parthasarathy, Professor Doug Swinbourne, Dr Liam Ward (School of Civil, Environmental and Chemical Engineering)

Postgraduate Education

  • Associate Professor Terry Hallahan (School of Economics, Finance and Marketing)

Indigenous Education

  • Wayne Ellerton, Geoff Burns, Warren James, Geoff Mason, Geoff Steel, Greg Tink (School of Engineering TAFE)
  • Robyn Blaikie (School of Education)

Widening Participation

  • Professor Ann Lawrie, Faye Campbell, Nigel Curwell, Ewa Domalewska, Robyne Drysdale, Dr Danilla Grando, Dr Tien Huynh, Dr Neale Jackson, Danka Jovetic, Dr Belinda Kennedy, Associate Professor Gina Nicoletti, Professor Dayanthi Nugegoda, Dr Greg Nugent, Professor Eddie Pang, Dr Jeff Shimeta, Associate Professor Peter Smooker, Angela Smyth, Associate Professor Trevor Stevenson, Helen Williams, Lynda Wilson, Dr Liliana Zalizniak (School of Applied Sciences).