Asia@RMIT – Taiwan

Taiwan Research

The Republic of China (ROC), commonly known as Taiwan, is a state in East Asia composed of the main island of Taiwan, the archipelagos of Penghu (the Pescadores), Kinmen (Quemoy), and Matsu, and a number of other islands. It is home to nearly 23 million people.

In 1895, China was forced to cede Taiwan to Japan due to military defeat, however Taiwan reverted to Chinese (Republic of China – ROC) control after World War II. In 1949, following defeat by Communist troops in the Chinese Civil War, the ROC government vacated the continent and relocated to the island of Taiwan. Over the six decades since then, the ROC and mainland China have coexisted as separate sovereign entities, and their societies have developed in radically different directions.

Modelling student retention in higher education institutes is the focus of the sole project on Taiwan conducted by RMIT researchers.


View in the RMIT research repository